Nominations Still Welcome for the Elizabeth Futas Catalyst for Change Award (due 2/1/18)

Nominations Still Welcome for the Elizabeth Futas Catalyst for Change Award (due 2/1/18)

Many of us know those special librarians who invest their time and talent to make positive changes in the profession of librarianship. They are the ones taking risks to further the cause of the industry and working tirelessly for change within library organizations. They are the ones inspiring their colleagues to excel and encouraging others to accomplish the impossible. If you know a librarian who has brought about significant, constructive change in our profession, nominations are now open for the Elizabeth Futas Catalyst for Change Award.


This biennial award recognizes librarians as leaders and innovators making individual groundbreaking efforts to improve the field and exhibiting commitment to the library community. The 2016 recipient of this award was Nancy Bolt of Nancy Bolt & Associates and formerly the Colorado State Library for work that included leading the co-creation of the ALA-APA Library Support Staff Certification Program and championing the Colorado Library Card, which centered on collaboration between public, academic and school libraries throughout the state.


ALA is currently accepting nominations for this award through Thursday, February 1, 2018. The prize consists of $1,000 and a 24-karat gold-framed citation. The award is funded by contributions to the Elizabeth Futas Memorial Fund at the American Library Association. To find out more information about the award, including how to nominate candidates, please visit


Please direct your questions to:

Cheryl Malden                                                                                               

Program Officer

American Library Association


Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.