Proposed Constitution Changes & Upcoming Vote

Proposed Constitution Changes & Upcoming Vote

As you may already know, the Idaho Library Association Board has approved moving the organization to a 501(c)(3) tax exempt organization. The reasoning behind the decision is to ensure future financial stability of the organization. There are many benefits to this move, and the work of the organization remains the same. 

In order to make this change with the Internal Revenue Service, we have several steps to follow, which are outlined in an attached document. One of those changes is to make some changes to the Idaho Library Association Constitution. Attached to this post, you will see the proposed version of the constitution, as well as the current constitution with redlines outlining the changes

As our current constitution states, ILA members need two months of time to review these changes before the vote takes place. We will be holding several online meeting forums (links and phone numbers to connect to the online meetings are at this URL)

  • Virtual Meeting Time #1 Tuesday, April 17, 2018, 10am Mountain Time / 9am Pacific Time
  • Virtual Meeting Time #2 Thursday, April 26, 2018, 10am Mountain Time / 9am Pacific Time
  • Virtual Meeting Time #3 Thursday, May 17, 2018 10am Mountain Time / 9am Pacific Time
  • Virtual Meeting Time #4 Monday, June 4, 2018 11am Mountain Time / 10am Pacific Time

We offer these forums to members and others to ask questions, and voice their opinions about these potential changes. 

The vote will take place Wednesday, June 6, and the voting will take place electronically. ILA Members will have one week to vote. Individuals must be active members in order to vote. The active members will be selected on Wednesday, June 6, at 9am Mountain Time. All individuals who would like to vote must have an active membership by 9am, June 6, 2018, Mountain Time. 

Be the first to comment

Please check your e-mail for a link to activate your account.